Now you could very well go out and find Gluten Free English Muffins and make this recipe using that instead of potatoes, but I like to save on budget. In the photo you’ll see a piece of GF toast. I make a point not to pick up replacement foods unless they are on a sale that allows them a more reasonable price. The bread was one of those sale items and I rarely have any in the house. I believe the jacking up of price simply because they can slap a Gluten Free label on it is a form of fraud, and I won’t contribute to the delusion that gluten free means more expensive.
(For example, Honey Nut Chex is on sale right now at my local grocery store for $1.99 a box. Normally it’s closer to $5 per box. You can guarantee that at $1.99 the store and the manufacturer are STILL MAKING A PROFIT. However, the price of Chex skyrocketed the minute Gluten Free was printed on the package.)

I digress.

For Christmas morning I tried this recipe out, and today (New Years Eve Day) I thought I’d do it again. The photo is of today’s meal. The recipe is universal.

First, I’ll note that I had never made Hollandaise sauce before. I was led to believe it was a difficult task. I wanted to do this nice fancy breakfast for the kids, so I went looking for a recipe.

I found this one Blender Hollandaise Sauce Recipe and it turned out fantastic! (The link is to All Recipes and allows you to adjust the recipe for the number of servings. Below is the recipe at 6 servings)

Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 dash hot pepper sauce (e.g. Tabasco™)
  • 1/2 cup butter

Directions

  1. In the container of a blender, combine the egg yolks, mustard, lemon juice and hot pepper sauce. Cover, and blend for about 5 seconds.
  2. Place the butter in a glass measuring cup. Heat butter in the microwave for about 1 minute, or until completely melted and hot. Set the blender on high speed, and pour the butter into the egg yolk mixture in a thin stream. It should thicken almost immediately. Keep the sauce warm until serving by placing the blender container in a pan of hot tap water.

 

I cooked up some ham AND bacon (because everything is better with bacon) had the non-Celiac teenager toast up english muffins for everyone but me and I made tiny browned potatoes for me. Slide a fried egg on top of your tower of meat and carbohydrates, then drizzle the tasty Hollandaise on top.

So delicious!