Gimchi, a very common side dish in Korea

Image via Wikipedia

I would just like to tell the world that I LOVE KIMCHI! My favorite Korean restaurant here in Maricopa County is CGJ Korean BBQ and they have great homemade kimchi. I especially like it when they stir fry it with bits of pork belly. Yummy hot and spicy and high in vitamin C among other things. Sometimes, like today, I just can’t get over to the restaurant to pick up a container for lunch. I figure I’ll make something up.

Here’s today’s hot and spicy quick kimchi recipe.

1/2 head of Napa Cabbage

1/2 cup onion, sliced

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1tbsp oil

1/4 cup rice vinegar

2 tsp salt

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp Korean chili flake

1 tbsp Sriracha chili sauce (it can be found in the Asian section at most grocery stores and is delicious!)

In a large steamer, steam the cabbage until wilted. In the meantime, heat oil and saute onions and garlic until soft. In a small bowl combine vinegar, salt, sugar, chili flake and Sriracha chili sauce.  When onions are soft, add steamed cabbage to the pan and top with vinegar mixture… toss until veggies are covered with sauce. Serve hot with rice or refrigerate for a cold side dish.